Change the world

Research Capacity Development


A range of bursaries and scholarships may be accessed by students. Some bursaries are administered by Research Capacity Development at the NMMU, whilst others are administered and managed independently.


Kindly note that bursary and scholarship opportunities will be advertised on the RCD Website’s News Feed. Users may subscribe to the News Feed so that they receive notifications when news items are placed on the webpage. Notices will contain information regarding who is eligible for a particular scholarship/bursary opportunity, what the closing date will be and how applications may be made. In some instances the application form and other relevant documentation may be attached.


A host of bursaries and scholarships are administered and managed by RCD. These bursaries and scholarships have different sources of funding and therefore different selection criteria. The applications forms for the following bursaries/scholarships are obtainable from RCD when calls are made for application. See the bursary booklet for details.

  • NMMU Postgraduate Research Scholarships
  • Dormehl-Cunningham Scholarships
  • Goldstein Bursary (Benjamin, Sophia Margaretha and Henriette Constance)
  • HB Webb Gift
  • Joshua Fullard Research Scholarship
  • NMMU Post-graduate Research Scholarship
  • MRC (SA Medical Research Council)
  • NRF (National Research Foundation)
  • Public Servants Association of SA (Stiglingh Memorial Bursary)
  • The Sepp Blatter Scholarship
  • Winifred Wilson Bursary Fund

Application process

Application forms may be obtained from, and should be returned to:

  • Physical Address

Department: Research Capacity Development
Room 1308
13th Floor
Main Building
Summerstrand Campus [South]
Port Elizabeth

  • Postal Address

Department: Research Capacity Development
Summerstrand Campus [South]
PO Box 77000
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Port Elizabeth


The applications for the following bursaries/scholarships should be obtained from and returned directly to the donor. See the Bursary Booklet for details.

  • ATKV Bursary (Die Afrikaanse Taal-en Kultuurvereniging)
  • Attorneys Fedility Fund
  • Corrosion Institute of Southern Africa
  • De Beers Industrial Diamond Division
  • DENOSA (Democratic Nursing Organisation of SA)
  • Department of Water Affairs and Forestry
  • Dudley D’Ewes Scholarships
  • Ernst and Ethel Eriksen Trust
  • FAK (Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniging) Senior Music Bursary
  • Grahamstown Foundation
  • Mintek
  • Pepler Trust
  • Public Servants Association of SA (Stiglingh Memorial Bursary)
  • Public Service Bursary Scheme (Department of Correctional Services)
  • SAALED (The Southern African Association for Learning and Educational Difficulties)
  • SA Association of Women Graduates
  • SAMRO (Southern African Music Rights Organisation
  • SASOL Group of Companies – Bursary/Loan
  • The Babbette Taute Bursary Trust
  • The Chartered Institute of Building
  • The GSSA Research, Education and Investment Fund
  • Union of Jewish Women of SA
  • Veterans Bursary Fund
  • Zerilda Steyn Memorial Trust
Files you can download