Change the world

Research Capacity Development


A range of bursaries and scholarships may be accessed by students.Somebursaries are administered by Research Capacity Development at the NMMU, whilst others are administered and managed independently.

Notices regarding bursary/scholarship opportunities are posted on the Research Support and Development site on the student and staff portals. Notices will contain information regarding who is eligible for a particular scholarship/bursary opportunity, what the closing date will be and how applications may be made. In some instances the application form and other relevant documentation may be attached.

NMMU Administered & Managed Bursaries/Scholarships

  • A host of bursaries and scholarships are administered and managed by RCD. These bursaries and scholarships have different sources of funding and therefore different selection criteria.

    The applications forms for the followingbursaries/scholarships are obtainable from theRCD when calls are made for application. See the bursary booklet for details.

    • Dormehl-Cunningham Scholarships
    • Goldstein Bursary (Benjamin, Sophia Margaretha and Henriette Constance)
    • HB Webb Gift
    • Joshua Fullard Research Scholarship
    • NMMU Post-graduate Research Scholarship
    • MRC (SA Medical Research Council)- see MRC menu for details
    • NRF (National Research Foundation) - see NRF menu for details(online applications)
    • Public Servants Association of SA (Stiglingh Memorial Bursary)
    • The Sepp Blatter Scholarship
    • Winifred Wilson Bursary Fund

Application process for NMMU administered bursaries and scholarships:

Application forms could be obtained from, and should be returned to:

  • Physical Address

Department: Research Capacity Development
Room 1308
13th Floor
Main Building
Summerstrand Campus [South]
Port Elizabeth

  • Postal Address

Department: Research Capacity Development
Summerstrand Campus [South]
PO Box 77000
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Port Elizabeth

Independent Applications:

The applications for the following bursaries/scholarships should be posted directly to the donor. See the Bursary Booklet for details.

  • ATKV Bursary (Die Afrikaanse Taal-en Kultuurvereniging)
  • Attorneys Fedility Fund
  • Corrosion Institute of Southern Africa
  • De Beers Industrial Diamond Division
  • DENOSA (Democratic Nursing Organisation of SA)
  • Dept of Water Affairs and Forestry
  • Dudley D’Ewes Scholarships
  • Ernst and Ethel Eriksen Trust
  • FAK (Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniging) Senior Music Bursary
  • Grahamstown Foundation
  • Mintek
  • Pepler Trust
  • Public Servants Association of SA (Stiglingh Memorial Bursary)
  • Public Service Bursary Scheme (Department of Correctional Services)
  • SAALED (The Southern African Association for Learning and Educational Difficulties)
  • SA Association of Women Graduates
    • Isie Smuts Research Award
    • Bertha Stoneman Memorial Award
    • Mary Agard Pocock Memorial Award
    • Hansi Pollak Fellowship
  • SAMRO (Southern African Music Rights Organisation
  • SASOL Group of Companies – Bursary/Loan
  • The Babbette Taute Bursary Trust
  • The Chartered Institute of Building
    • Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Fund
  • The GSSA Research, Education and Investment Fund
  • Union of Jewish Women of SA
    • The Toni Saphra Bursary
  • Veterans Bursary Fund
  • Zerilda Steyn Memorial Trust

Contact Details

Enquiries regarding postgraduate (Master's and Doctoral)bursaries and scholarships can be made to:

Tel. +27 41 504 2538
Fax. +27 41 504 2778

Contact information
Mrs Annette Denakie
Tel: 27 41 504 2538